IMG_1675

CALIFORNIA SECURITY GUARD TRAINING 

 
A security guard in California must have in his/her possession a valid security guard registration or a screen-print of the Bureau's approval from the Bureau's web site at www.bsis.ca.gov, along with a valid photo identification, before working as a security guard. Security guards are employed by licensed private patrol operators to protect persons or property and prevent theft. To be eligible to apply for a security guard registration, you must: Be at least 18 years old; undergo a criminal history background check through the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); and complete a 40-hour course of required training. The training and exam may be administered by any private patrol operator or by a certified training facility. To learn more about licensing requirements for Security Guards in California click here.

40 HOURS GUARD CARD REQUIRED TRAINING 

Date of Completion

Prior to Being Assigned on Post (Phase 1)
Training Required within the First 30 days (Phase 2)
Training Required within the First 6 Months (Phase 3)
Total of Hours
8 Hours
16 Hours
16 Hours
40 Hours

Note: You may not carry a gun on duty without having been issued a Firearm Permit by the

Bureau. The training above does not authorize you to carry a firearm while working as a Security Guard. To be eligible to apply for an Exposed Firearms Permit, you must: Be a citizen of the United States or have permanent legal alien status; not be banned from owning or possessing any firearm pursuant to State or Federal Law; undergo a criminal history background check through the California Department of Justice (DOJ) and the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI); and complete an 8+ hours course in the carrying and use of firearms.

 

Hours Needed  

 

GUARD CARD TRAINING (Phase 1)

Power to Arrest and Weapons of Mass Destruction

 
  • Class Cost: $85.00
  • Approved by the California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, this course fulfills the minimum training requirements for applicants to qualify for the Security Guard Card license.
  • Expiration date will be two years from when BSIS processed the application.
  • The class includes the 8-hours guard class, diploma, and state forms.
  • Full Class Payment Required to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
 

Note: Livescan and California State fees are not included in the class fees.

 

 

 

16 HOURS COURSE WITHIN 30 DAYS (Phase 2)

8 hours mandatory course & 8 hours elective course

 
  • Class Cost: $125.00
  • Approved by the California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, this course fulfills the 16 hours training requirements within the first 30 days for applicants to maintain their Guard Card license.
  • The class includes 8 hours of mandatory course material and 8 hours of elective course material and diploma.
  • Full Class Payment Required to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
 

Note: This is a two day training course.

 

 

 

16 HOURS COURSE WITHIN 6 MONTHS (Phase 3)

8 hours mandatory course & 8 hours elective course

 
  • Class Cost: $125.00
  • Approved by the California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, this course fulfills the 16 hours training requirements within the first 6 months for applicants to maintain their Guard Card license.
  • The class includes 8 hours of mandatory course material and 8 hours of elective course material and diploma.
  • Full Class Payment Required to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
 

Note: This is a two day training course.

 

 

 

8 HOURS ANNUAL CONTINUING EDUCATION

Pursuant to Business & Professions Code Section 7583.6 

 
  • Class Cost: $80.00
  • Approved by the California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, this course fulfills the continuing education requirement of an additional 8 hours annually pursuant to Business and Professions Code Section 7583.6(f)(1).
  • This class includes the 8 hours of continuing education and diploma.
  • Full Class Payment Required to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
 

Note: Livescan and California State fees are not included in the class fees.

 

 

 

FIREARMS PERMIT TRAINING

Classroom training and firearm qualification course

 
  • Class Cost: $125.00
  • Approved by the California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, this course fulfills the minimum training requirements for applicants to qualify for the California BSIS Exposed Firearms Permit.
  • This class includes the 8+ hours firearms class and qualification course, State forms and diploma.
  • Full Class Payment Required to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
  • Applicants must qualify with the caliber of weapon that will be carried while on duty. The caliber must be listed on the Firearms Permit.
  • Additional Calibers: $20.00 each. 
 

Note: Livescan and California State fees are not included in the class fees. Rental of Firearms, holster and ammunition for use during training is available. Contact us if you need a firearm and equipment to use.

 

 

 

FIREARMS PERMIT REQUALIFICATIONS

Two hour refresher and firearm requalification course

 
  • Class Cost: $45.00
  • Approved by the California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, this course fulfills the two (2) range qualifications on a firing range every twelve (12) months and at least four (4) months apart for applicants to maintain their Exposed Firearms Permit.
  • This class includes the 2 hours required refresher course and firearm requalification.
  • Applicants must qualify with the caliber of weapon listed on the Firearms Permit.
  • Additional Calibers: $20.00 each.
  • Full Class Payment equired to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
 

Note: Rental of Firearms, holster and ammunition for use during training is available. Contact us if you need a firearm and equipment to use.

 

 

 

FIREARMS PERMIT RENEWAL TRAINING

Two hour refresher and firearm requalification course

 
  • Class Cost: $75.00
  • Approved by the California Bureau of Security and Investigative Services, this course fulfills the training requirements for applicants to renew their Exposed Firearms Permit.
  • This class includes the 2 hours required renewal course and firearm requalification.
  • Applicants must qualify with the caliber of weapon listed on the Firearms Permit.
  • Additional Calibers: $20.00 each.
  • Full Class Payment Required to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
 

Note: Rental of Firearms, holster and ammunition for use during training is available. Contact us if you need a firearm and equipment to use.

 

 

 

              GUARD CARD & FIREARMS PERMIT COMBO

               Combination Special!

 
  • Class Cost: $200.00
  • Save money by selecting this combination special.
  • Full Class Payment Required to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
 

Note: This is a 2 day class. Livescan and California State fees are not included in the class fees. Rental of Firearms, holster and ammunition for use during training is available. Contact us if you need a firearm and equipment to use.

 

 

 

              40 HOURS GUARD CARD TRAINING COMBO

               Great Combination Special!

 
  • Class Cost: $300.00
  • Save money by selecting this combination special.
  • Full Class Payment Required to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
 

Note: Livescan and California State fees are not included in the class fees. Rental of Firearms, holster and ammunition for use during training is available. Contact us if you need a firearm and equipment to use.

 

 

 

              40 HOURS GUARD CARD & FIREARMS PERMIT COMBO

               Great Combination Special!

 
  • Class Cost: $430.00
  • Save $30 dollars by selecting this combination special.
  • Full Class Payment Required to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
 

Note: Livescan and California State fees are not included in the class fees. Rental of Firearms, holster and ammunition for use during training is available. Contact us if you need a firearm and equipment to use.

 

 

 

 

CALIFORNIA BSIS-CERTIFIED BATON TRAINING

8 hours classroom training and practical application.

 
  • Class Cost: $135.00
  • To be CERTIFIED to use and carry a baton, students MUST complete a minimum of eight (8) hours of instruction.
  • The class fee includes the $50 statutory fee for each baton permit, instruction, certification, student handouts, and practical application.
  • Baton permits in California do not expire!!!
  • Full Class Payment Required to Confirm Registration. To read our cancellation policy click here.
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
AZ DPS LIC: 1646107
BSIS LIC: TFF 1227
AZ DPS LIC: 1701075
CA BSIS LIC: TIF 1932
CA BSIS LIC: TFB 1374
CA BSIS LIC: TIB 1974
FOLLOW US ON:
  • Facebook

VIP Firearms Training, LLC     I     11124 S. Payson Drive, Suite 3, Yuma, AZ 85365     I     (928) 248-5063

 

© 2007 - 2020 VIP Firearms Training, LLC. All Rights Reserved.